Google Translate app now has 20 additional languages

Google Translate is seeing the biggest update to its app since…since…well, since it launched. Google Translate originally had 7 languages that could be instantly translated by placing your phone over the text. Previously you were able to take a picture of foreign text, highlight the text by sliding your finger, and then having it translated. But today’s update adds 20 more languages (Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Hindi, Thai, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Filipino, Finnish, Hungarian, Indonesian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Turkish and Ukrainian) to the instant translation feature, making the total to 27 now.

Also an update to voice conversation mode is included. Voice conversations become more natural and in real-time. You can set the language translation from English to Spanish and when you speak English to your phone, it will spit back out the Spanish equivalent by voice the moment you finish. This can come in handy when traveling the world and needing a quick translation for the person on the other side.

Check out the video below to see the feature in action and go out and explore the world with Google Translate!

Speaking of updates, we’ve updated Team:on Android app. Navigation buttons are no longer hidden! Grab the latest here: Team:on Android

Source: Google Blog

Share on Google+Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrEmail this to someonePin on PinterestDigg this